Early Voting

Adam Bandt is your local MP, Melbourne's progressive independent voice in the middle of Parliament. He will continue to be a stronger representative than a Labor backbencher under the sway of the factions. 

This year it's easier than ever to have a say in the upcoming election.

There are two ways you can cast your vote before May 18

Visit an early voting centre 

You're eligible to vote early if on May 18 you: 

  • are outside the electorate where you are enrolled to vote
  • are more than 8km from a polling place
  • are travelling
  • are unable to leave your workplace to vote
  • are seriously ill, infirm or due to give birth shortly (or caring for someone who is)
  • are a patient in hospital and can't vote at the hospital
  • have religious beliefs that prevent you from attending a polling place
  • are in prison serving a sentence of less than three years or otherwise detained
  • are a silent elector
  • have a reasonable fear for your safety.

There are several early voting centres within Melbourne:

  • Melbourne: 215 Spring Street, Melbourne, Vic 3000
    • Monday 29 April – Friday 3 May (8:30 –17:30)
    • Monday 6 May – Thursday 9 May (8:30 –17:30)
    • Friday 10 May (8:30 –18:00)
    • Saturday 11 May (9:00 –16:00)
    • Monday 13 May – Tuesday 14 May (8:30 –17:30)
    • Wednesday 15 May (8:30 –18:00)
    • Thursday 16 May (8:30 –17:30)
    • Friday 17 May (8:30 –18:00)
  • Abbotsford: The Hive Shopping Centre, 313 Victoria St, Abbotsford VIC 3067
    • Enter via Nicholson Street. Early voting centre is upstairs across from Woolworths.
    • Monday 6 May – Thursday 9 May (8:30 –17:30)
    • Friday 10 May (8:30 –18:00)
    • Saturday 11 May (9:00 –16:00)
    • Monday 13 May – Tuesday 14 May (8:30 –17:30)
    • Wednesday 15 May (8:30 –18:00)
    • Thursday 16 May (8:30 –17:30)
    • Friday 17 May (8:30 –18:00)

Request a postal vote

To request a postal vote, click here.

Would you prefer to vote on polling day?

You can vote at one of the many booths around the electorate on Saturday May 18. Head here to find your closest booth.

Voting for Adam? Let us know here.