The Electorate of Melbourne 

Name Derivation

Named after the city of Melbourne which was named in 1837 by Governor Bourke after Lord Melbourne, who was then Prime Minister of Britain.

Area and Location Description

The Division of Melbourne is located in the inner city suburbs of Melbourne. It covers an area of approximately 46 sq km from the Yarra River in the east to the Maribyrnong River in the west and from Ascot Vale/Princes Hill in the north to the Yarra River in the south.

The division includes the central business district of the City of Melbourne and the suburbs of Abbotsford, Ascot Vale, Carlton, Carlton North, Collingwood, East Melbourne, Fitzroy, Flemington, Kensington, North Melbourne, Parkville, Richmond and West Melbourne.

Fitzroy North is shared with the Division of Wills and Docklands is shared with the Division of Melbourne Ports.

Products and Industries of the Area

Heavy and light engineering, extensive manufacturing, commercial and retail activities, dockyards, clothing and footwear industries, warehousing and distributing of white goods, building and other general goods.

First Proclaimed and Election


Current and Former Members

Bandt, A (GRN) 2010–
Tanner, L (ALP) 1993–2010
Hand, G L (ALP) 1983–1993
Innes, U E (ALP) 1972–1983
Calwell, A A (ALP) 1940–1972
Malony, W R N (ALP/FLP) 1904–1940
McEacharn, M D (PROT) 1901–1904

Map of the Division of Melbourne – this boundary will apply at the next federal election